Skip to content

TIME RXR Ulteam VIP

April 20, 2010

The Dude's RXR that he named The Kraken¹

It looks like I’ve pretty much narrowed it down to two frames, both lugged. The advantage of the Colnago EPS Di2 is that the frame comes out of the factory Di2-compatible with internal wiring. I like internalizing Di2, but I don’t really like drilling holes into an expensive frame. Thankfully, Nathan recently got an RXR frame as well. I know for a fact that he’ll hack it to internalize Di2, so I’ll be able to follow his lead.

The Dude's Kraken

I’ve decided against the Giant Di2 bike. There are too many parts that I’d have to change, ballooning the initial cost of the project. By no means are the parts not good, it’s just I’ve got other things in mind. I’d have to change the crank, the wheels, and a few other bits.

Starting with a bare frame starts with a blank slate. The other frames that I’m interested in are lightweight monocoque and custom affairs, so they can wait. My RXR will naturally be a Di2 bike. It will take a while to be completed, since I’ll probably be ordering some AX Lightness parts to go with it, like the 24 SRT and 42 SRT Premium wheels (Tune hubs, AX skewers, Sapim CX Ray spokes), AX1000 saddle or Phoenix.

The module+ comes with a TIME branded stem and handlebars, though I don’t know if I’ll keep them on this bike. The stem looks very bulbous, and I wouldn’t mind using a lightweight AX Zeus stem, at around 64g. That would be cool. If you’re wondering about weights, TIME claims that the frame, headset, fork, stem, and handlebars weigh 1,930g. That’s not too shabby. As for the AX parts, they are quite expensive, so I can probably buy them over the course of this year.

I’d most definitely get an AX Morpheus crank. The components will be Shimano Dura Ace Di2, but I’ll only get the electronic shifting group, not the full gruppo.

Why? I’ve got my own ideas about brakes, cranks, and other details, like a Recon Ti cassette to keep weight down. I think I’ll try FiberLyte carbon fiber chainrings to test them out. All in all, I hope to complete this build before the fall.

To order your own TIME dream bike, send us an email at asteriskcycles at gmail dot com.

* * * * *

[¹]: This is one of the best builds of the RXR that I’ve seen. It’s a stealthy frame, but the contrast is highlighted thanks to the golden brakes and the golden Nokon wires.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Benjamin Leong permalink
    October 25, 2010 2:56 pm

    Hi Range,

    I am interested in the Time RXR 2010 Vip or Time RXRS 2011 Vip. Delivery to Singapore.

    Best regards,
    Ben

  2. Tom permalink
    December 9, 2010 10:08 am

    Hi:

    Can you send me pricing on the RXR xxs or what you have left in stock in that size.

  3. Andy permalink
    December 14, 2011 10:09 pm

    i’m interested in time Time NXR Instinct 2011 Frameset
    Time NXR Instinct 2011 Frameset ship to usa. Could you give me a price?

Leave a Reply

